Districts In Western Region And Their Capitals

By | March 16, 2022

The Western Region has a long coastline that spans from the Ivory Coast’s southern border to the Western Region’s eastern border with the Central Region in the east.

It boasts of Cape Three Points, Ghana’s southernmost point, where commercial quantities of crude oil were discovered in June 2007. The region has a total size of 13,842 square kilometers and a population of 2,060,585 people according to the 2021 Census.

The Western Region of Ghana receives the most rain, has beautiful green hills, and rich soils. The Western Region’s economy is dominated by local and large-scale gold miners, as well as offshore oil rigs which has earned it the envious name, oil city.

Brief History Of Western Region

The region used to have 23 MMDAs well before regional demarcation in December 2018. It was made up of 1 Metropolitan, 11 Municipal and 11 Ordinary Assemblies. As a result of the reorganization, nine MMDAs( which were three Municipal and six Ordinary Assemblies) were removed from the Western Region and renamed the Western North Region, with Wiawso as its new capital.

Region’s political administration

The region’s political administration is handled by the local government system. The region is organized into 14 MMDAs under this management arrangement (made up of 1 Metropolitan, 8 Municipal and 5 Ordinary Assemblies). Each District, Municipal, or Metropolitan Assembly is led by a Chief Executive who represents the central government but is delegated authority by a presiding officer.


The Ankobra, Bia, and Pra rivers are the largest rivers in the east, with the Tano River forming part of the western national border. The UNESCO World Heritage Site and settlement of Nzulezo, built entirely on stilts and platforms over water, and the Ankasa Protected Reserve are both located in the area.

Nkroful, the birth place of Dr. Kwake Nkrumah, first president and founder of Ghana draws many tourists to the Ellembelle District of the Region.
From 1512 onwards, a series of formidable Portuguese, Dutch, British, and Brandenburgian forts were built along the shore by the Europeans who later became colonial masters.

Below are the districts you can find in Western Region and their capitals

1Sekondi Takoradi MetropolitanSekondi Takoradi
2Shama DistrictShama
3Tarkwa NsuaemTarkwa
4Ahanta West DistrictAgona Nkwanta
5Wassa Amenfi Central DistrictManso Amenfi
6Wassa Amenfi East DistrictWassa Akropong
7Wassa Amenfi West DistrictAsankargua
9Ellembelle DistrictNkroful
10Jomoro DistrictHalf Assini
11Mpohor DistrictMpohor District
12Nzema EastAxim
13Prestea-Huni ValleyBogoso
14Wassa East Daboase

Thank You for reading this post from Latest Ghana as online entertainment and news portal from Ghana. Don’t forget to recommend our site, Latest Ghana to your friends and family who might also profit from the information on our website and check out our other articles because we have more information to bring to you via your devices.

I believe you have any comments or suggestions to drop about this article, kindly make use of the comment box below and reach us for more discussion.

Latest Ghana is on the mission to promote anything latest from Ghana; Latest Entertainment News, General News, Sports, Insurance, Banks, Mortgage, Farming, Scholarship, Education and Schools Admission, Product pricing, Food, Fashion, Health, Business and more.

Leave a Reply